6 Articles of Faith

As Muslims, we are obligated to believe in the six Articles of Faith. Disbelief in any of these takes you out of the fold of Islam. The basis of Aqeedah (belief/creed) are the six Articles of Faith, with the branches of Aqeedah being other matters of belief found in the Quran and Sunnah. All these six Articles of Faith are found in the Quran in a clear cut manner, which is why they are matters which must be believed in and are a foundation of our Deen.

1. The Belief in Tawhid

Tawhid is the Islamic monotheistic concept of one God. The belief in one God is the most important belief a Muslim must have. Chapter 112 of the Quran explains Tawhid in a concise and beautiful manner:

   “Say, he is Allah, [who is] One. Allah, the eternal refuge. He neither begets, nor is born. Nor is there to Him any equivalent.”(112)

2. The Belief in the Angels

The Angels are one of the many Creations of Allah. They are different from the human and jinn because they do not have free will, instead they do as Allah Commands at all times. Many Angels are mentioned by name in Quran such as in the verse:

   “Whoever is an enemy to Allah and His angels and His messengers and Gabriel and Michael – then indeed, Allah is an enemy to the disbelievers.” (2:98)

Many Angels are known for having a specific task, such as Jibril (Gabriel) having the duty of relaying the message to the Prophets, Mika’il (Michael) having the duty to distribute sustenance, and many more.

3. The Belief in the Books

The books referred to here is the Quran, as well as all the books and scripture mentioned in the Quran. These include the Injeel (Gospel), the Tawrat (Torah), the Zabur (Psalms), Suhufi Ibrahim (scrolls of Abraham), and Suhufi Musa (scrolls of Moses). The Injeel was revealed to Prophet Isa (Jesus), and is now considered lost. The Injeel mentioned in the Quran is not to be confused with the modern New Testament, as the New Testament is composed of four gospels, while the Quran only makes mention of one gospel. We also have to believe that all previous scripture before the Quran was altered by man with the will and permission of Allah.

4. The Belief in the Messengers

We must believe in the existence of all the Prophets and Messengers mentioned in the Quran such as Nuh(Noah), Ibrahim(Abraham), Musa(Moses), Isa(Jesus) and Muhammad(may peace and blessings be upon all of them). We must believe that all these Prophets and Messengers came with Divine Guidance and Revelation from Allah to warn and guide their people.

5. The Belief in the Day of Judgement

We must believe that there is life after death, and on the Day of Judgement, every dead person will be raised in front of Allah and be held accountable for their good and bad deeds.

   “Allah – there is no deity except Him. He will surely assemble you for [account on] the Day of Resurrection, about which there is no doubt. And who is more truthful than Allah in statement.” (4:87)

6. The Belief in the Qadr (Predestination)

We must believe that everything that happens to us is preordained for us. This includes all good and bad that may befall upon us. Allah is All-Knowing, therefore he knows our past, present, and future.

   “No disaster strikes upon the earth or among yourselves except that it is in a register before We bring it into being – indeed that, for Allah, is easy – “(57:22)